PhD Progress & Thoughts

Worker Bee

Disclaimer: Sitting in my drafts since 2018. This is not what I am currently doing, but worth recording.

Today was my first day in the office and boy, did I dislike it.

Discounting the amount I dislike working in sterile, blank spaces; it was not fun. I didn’t have enough work to do, worked mostly in silence and isolation, and felt unsure of whether I could leave when I had finished what was reasonable.

I was uncomfortable, awkward, and found it hard to concentrate in these conditions.

While I usually wax lyrical about the joys of unstructured, autonomous work…in this setting it was a burden. I didn’t have anyone to speak to, I didn’t have any meetings to attend, and nobody cared whether I came or went. Sure, that type of freedom is wonderful when you’re actually busy, but I wasn’t.

Leave a comment