Culture Studies

Shurijo Burnt Down

https://the-japan-news.com/news/article/0006123778?fp=7a5c8dec8793a6b307be98b71e026783

After all my education, and mentorship, to learn the culture of my husband and mother-in-law, I’ve developed a personal connection to passing on Ryukyuan culture to the next generation.

On October 31, 2019, Shuri castle burnt down.

By Sakiko Shiraishi, BBC News Japan;

The Ryukyu dynasty was a kingdom that thrived on maritime trade, connecting countries in the region. Shuri Castle, though it had architectural influences from China and Japan, was at the centre of this unique Ryukyu culture.

But in 1879, the king was banished from the castle and the dynasty was annexed to become Okinawa prefecture.

The castle was completely destroyed in WW2 by American forces in 1945. Many documents and artefacts, which could have helped in the reconstruction, were also lost.

The current castle was rebuilt and opened to the public in 1992.

It was registered as a World Heritage site in 2000 and was the site for the Okinawa Summit in the same year, appearing in commemorative 2000-yen notes.

From Ryukyu to Japan, war to peace – Shuri Castle has been there through everything, and was a symbol of identity for the Okinawa people.

Those who saw the end of WW2 in Okinawa have seen the Castle burn twice in their lifetime. Their sorrow is beyond imagination.

As a family which was slowly recovering from the hurt and trauma of Japan’s annexure of the Ryukyus, and military occupation in WW2, my MIL and family in Japan will be devastated by this news. And, even though my own ancestors weren’t the ones who walked the original halls of Shurijo, my heart aches for my husband’s relatives who will be mourning the loss of such an important cultural touchstone.

If anything, this has bolstered my desire to be a custodian of my family’s culture for future generations. I only hope that I will live to see the day that Shurijo is rebuilt – again – in its rightful place on the hill.

Leave a comment